First blog post: Compromise Where You Can

I’m a huge fan of Marvel Cinematic Universe. I mean, I fangirl every time I see a poster, shirt, or new trailer and constantly quote those movies. But there is one quote that I really love. It is by Sharon Carter in Captain America: Civil War. Honestly, it is amazing. Basically, the quote is talking about compromise. She says, “Compromise where you can. Where you can’t, don’t. Even if everyone is telling you that something wrong is something right. Even if the whole world is telling you to move, it is your duty to plant yourself like a tree, look them in the eye, and say, ‘No, *you* move’.” (http://www.imdb.com/character/ch0108479/quotes). This quote is so true and relatable.

I am currently attending a very non-Christian community college. Which means, most of what I read and write for classes do not line up with my beliefs. For example, in History I had to read all about pre-civilization man, evolution, and the like. Not to mention having to write several papers about it. But, I refused to agree with what the textbook was trying to convince me of, so I wrote everything from a Christian viewpoint. I wrote what the assignment asked, however, I did not say that I believed any of it. By the end of the semester I had an A in the class. I did my best not to compromise and go against my beliefs.

Another example of compromise is how much girls are constantly surrounded by gossip. Working at my job where 99% of the employees are women, there is plenty of gossip. Every time I take a lunch break in the break room, I’m surrounded by gossip. But I always do my best not to engage in the conversation. It’s hard sometimes though. When someone walks up to you and says, “Did you hear about so-and-so?” What do you do? It is ingrained in every woman to be curious about the latest scoop of gossip. However, it is our job as godly women to not compromise our stance on gossip to “fit in” with the crowd. The Bible says, “A gossip betrays a confidence, but a trustworthy person keeps a secret.” Proverbs 11:13 NIV. So, as you can see people have always gossiped and always will. But that doesn’t mean we should listen to and worst of all, spread gossip.

We compromise every day. We comprise when we decide to not workout and eat healthy, we compromise when we choose to stick with the status quo, when we choose to participate in gossip, or when we choose to lower ourselves to fit someone else’s standard. But we don’t have to! As believers, we have the choice to stand firm, to not be shaken to choose to trust in God to work everything out. If we stand on our faith, God will honor that. He will always be watching us when we are faced with a choice to compromise our beliefs and standards. Even though He will love us no matter what, we need to, every day, strive to honor him with our thoughts, actions, and words.

1 Corinthians 16:13-14 “Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong. Do everything in love” NIV

Leave a Reply

